Robyn Hitchcock and the Venus 3


Robyn Hitchcock and the Venus 3

Robyn Hitchcock has gone through so many permutations in his career, and collaborated with so many characters, one never knows where he might turn up next. The only safe assumption is that his output will most likely fit descriptions including the words “jangly guitar,” “folk-pop” and “off-the-wall.” His clever , often surreal lyrical whimsies first gained widespread notice in the Soft Boys, followed by a stint alternating between solo projects and his band, Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians, that brought forth albums such as Queen Elvis, Perspex Island, Moss Elixir and Storefront Hitchcock, the soundtrack to the 1998 Jonathan Demme-directed film of the same title. (Notable songs from that era include “So You Think You’re In Love,” “Balloon Man” and “Madonna and the Wasps.”) In 2007, he was the subject of a second documentary, John Edginton’s Robyn Hitchcock: Sex, Food, Death … and Insects, which coincided with the release of a live EP with the Venus 3 — R.E.M.’s Peter Buck on guitar, auxiliary R.E.M.’er and Minus 5 member Scott McCaughey on bass and Ministry’s Bill Rieflin on drums. His first full album with the Venus 3 was 2006’s Olé! Tarantula; earlier this year, Hitchock, Buck, McCaughey and Rieflin teamed up again for Goodnight Oslo.

* upload your pics to Flickr and tag them '' and 'Robyn Hitchcock and the Venus 3' to have them show up here

Artist Info

Nothing official yet. Check back here for official setlists.

Please wait...